Skip to Main Content
iun modern languages

Sigma Delta Pi, the National Collegiate Hispanic Honor Society ( La Sociedad Nacional Honoraria Hispánica ), was established on November 14, 1919, at the University of California in Berkeley.  Its insignia is the royal seal of Fernando and Isabel, representing Castille, León and Aragón.  The Society's colors are red and gold and its flower is the red carnation. It is the only honor society devoted exclusively to students of Spanish in four-year colleges and universities.

With the guidance of such notable Hispanists as S. Griswold Morley, Elijah C. Hills, Rudolph Schevill, Leavitt O. Wright, William Berrien, John D. Fitz-Gerald, Tomás Navarro Tomás, José Martel, Archer M. Huntington, John T. Reid, Stuart M. Gross, James O. Swain, F. Dewey Amner, Carl A. Tyre, T. Earle Hamilton, Dolores Brown, Richard E. Chandler, Ignacio R.M. Galbis, John H. LaPrade, Mark P. Del Mastro and Germán D. Carrillo, the Society has expanded its activities and now has over 555 chapters. 

Selection of New Active Members

In order to be selected, candidates must have completed three years of study of college-level Spanish (18 semester credit hours) or the equivalent thereof, including at least three semester hours of a course in Hispanic literature or Hispanic culture and civilization at the junior (third-year) level. Students must rank in the upper 35% of their class—sophomore, junior, or senior—and must have completed at least three semesters or five quarters of college work; they must also have a 3.2 cumulative GPA.

Honorary Membership

Honorary Membership is extended to members of the faculty who are notably interested in and supportive of things Hispanic. It is not open to students.

At the initiation ceremony, active and honorary members receive the society's membership certificate and pin. The Sigma Delta Pi chapter at IU Northwest is called Chi Sigma, and it is the society's #545. Professor Ana Osan is the chapter's adviser.